Progressive Conservatives and 25 Liberals, elected for a statutory term not to exceed five years. One seat is vacant.

The Premier receives \$25,000 per annum in addition to the salary for any other portfolio he may hold. Each Cabinet Minister is paid \$16,000; each member of the Legislative Assembly receives \$8,000 and a \$2,500 allowance for expenses. The Leader of the Opposition receives an additional \$16,000. The Speaker and Deputy Speaker are paid \$5,000 and \$2,500, respectively, in addition to the regular indemnity.

The Executive Council of New Brunswick as at December 31, 1973

Premier, Hon. Richard Hatfield

Minister of Justice, Hon. John B.M. Baxter

Minister of Finance, Hon. Jean-Maurice Simard Chairman of Treasury Board and Minister of Tour-

ism, Hon. Jean-Paul LeBlanc

Provincial Secretary, Hon. Omer Léger

Minister of Supply and Services, Hon. Carl Mooers Minister of Highways, Hon. Wilfred Bishop

Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. A. Edison

Stairs

Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development,

Hon. George Horton

Minister of Health, Hon. Lawrence Garvie

Minister of Social Services and Minister of Youth, Hon, Brenda M. Robertson

Minister of Labour, Hon. Rodman E. Logan

Minister of Education, Hon. J. Lorne McGuigan Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Horace B.

Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Horace E Smith

Minister of Economic Growth, Hon. Paul S. Creaghan

Minister of Fisheries and Environment, Hon. G.W.N. Cockburn

Minister of New Brunswick Electric Power Commission, Hon. J. Stewart Brooks.

3.3.1.5 Quebec

The government of Quebec consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a National Assembly. The current Lieutenant Governor is the Honourable Hugues Lapointe, commissioned to office February 22, 1966. The National Assembly has 110 members elected for a maximum period of five years. Party standings in the 30th Legislature elected October 1973 were: Liberal 102; Social Credit 2; and Parti Québécois 6.

Each member of the National Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$15,600 and an expense allowance of \$7,140. In addition to this indemnity and allowance, the Prime Minister is paid \$20,800 annually and members of the Cabinet \$15,600. Each also receives a \$3,000 representation allowance. Ministers without portfolio receive an annual indemnity of \$15,600 with a representation allowance of \$3,000. The Chief Whips and parliamentary assistants are paid an annual indemnity of \$3,800 and a representation allowance of \$1,700. The Speaker of the National Assembly receives an indemnity of \$14,500, and a representation allowance of \$3,000; the Deputy Speaker receives an indemnity of \$6,500 and a representation allowance of \$2,000. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an indemnity of \$16,200, and a representation allowance of \$3,000. Legislation passed on July 7, 1971 provides for payment of a \$6,000 indemnity and a \$2,000 supplementary allowance to the leader in the National Assembly of any opposition party having elected at least 12 members or having obtained 20% of the total vote in Ouebec at the last general election.

A member is entitled to a maximum of \$200 a month for expenses incurred in maintaining an office in his constituency if the government does not provide one. Members are entitled to reimbursement of expenses incurred in maintaining in Quebec or its immediate vicinity a second residence which they would not require had they not been elected to the Assembly, or for trips to Quebec, in an amount not exceeding \$200 a month.

Members of the Executive Council as at December 31, 1973

Prime Minister, Robert Bourassa

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Inter-

governmental Affairs, Gérard D. Lévesque

Minister of Transport, Raymond Mailloux Minister of Cultural Affairs, Denis Hardy

Minister of Social Affairs, Claude E. Forget

Minister of Justice, Jérôme Choquette Minister of Industry and Commerce, Guy St-Pierre

Minister of Finance, Raymond Garneau

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Minister of the Environment, Victor C. Goldbloom Minister of Financial Institutions, Companies and

Co-operatives, William Tetley
Minister of Agriculture, Normand Tourin

Minister of Agriculture, Normand Toupin Minister of Natural Resources, Gilles Massé

Minister of Lands and Forests, Kevin Drummond Minister of Education, François Cloutier

Minister responsible for the High Commission on Youth, Recreation and Sport, Paul Phaneuf Minister of Communications, Jean-Paul L'Allier

Minister of Revenue, Gérald Harvey